100 Scope Notes
Inside 100 Scope Notes

Reaction Tweets of the 2016 Youth Media Award Winners

Here’s a batch of first reactions from the recent class of Youth Media Award winners…

Matt de la Peña: Newbery Medal, Last Stop on Market Street:

Sophie Blackall: Caldecott Medal, Finding Winnie:

Victoria Jamieson: Newbery Honor, Roller Girl:

Rita Williams-Garcia: Coretta Scott King Author Award, Gone Crazy in Alabama:

Jason Reynolds: Coretta Scott King Author Honor Award: All American Boys, The Boy in the Black Suit:

Ronald L. Smith: Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Author Award

Laura Ruby: Printz Award, Bone Gap:

Meg Medina: Pura Belpré Author Honor, Mango, Abuela, and Me:

Alex Gino: Stonewall Book Award, George:

Jonathan Fenske: Geisel Honor, A Pig, a Box, and a Fox:

About Travis Jonker

Travis Jonker is an elementary school librarian in Michigan. He writes reviews (and the occasional article or two) for School Library Journal and is a member of the 2014 Caldecott committee. You can email Travis at scopenotes@gmail.com, or follow him on Twitter: @100scopenotes.


  1. Such a fun post, thanks for this.

  2. That was just great. Thanks for gathering those terrific responses!