Search on SLJ.com ....
Subscribe to SLJ
100 Scope Notes
Inside 100 Scope Notes

Morning Notes: Aromatherapy Edition

Morning Notes Banner Morning Notes: Aromatherapy Edition

Headlines Banner Morning Notes: Aromatherapy Edition

SOME ARE MORE SUCCESSFUL THAN OTHERS

I enjoyed checking out 7 Obscure Children’s Books by Authors of Grown-Up Literature, particularly the excerpt from Advice for Little Girls by Mark Twain. Uh, I don’t think kids catch your drift, Mark. Click here to read.

WIZARD ROCK: DEAD?

I doubt it, but the band that started it all, Harry and the Potters, appear to be moving on. Click here to read.

AUTHOR SELF PUBLISHES AROMATHERAPY-SCENTED CHILDREN’S BOOKS

Sound the real headline siren! Click here to read.

THE BOOK BARGE

Your bookmobile drives on land? Not impressed. Water travel is where it’s at. Time to get familiar with the book barge. Click here to read.

For more images click here.

(Thanks to LIS News for the link)

THIS COVER NEEDS MORE MARACAS

I know I link to the UK bad book cover site Good Show Sir all the time, but the covers are just so awesomely bad, I can’t help myself. Take, for example, A Woman of the Iron People (Part II): Changing Women:

Maraccas 225x300 Morning Notes: Aromatherapy Edition

Book Buzz Banner Morning Notes: Aromatherapy Edition

Chomp 202x300 Morning Notes: Aromatherapy Edition

Chomp by Carl Hiaasen. On shelves March 27, 2012

Fans of Hiaasen’s Hoot, Flush, and Scat take note – the man has another ecological adventure coming around the bend. That bend waaaaaaaaay in the distance.

Post of Week Banner Morning Notes: Aromatherapy Edition

Screen shot 2011 07 20 at 12.15.37 AM Morning Notes: Aromatherapy Edition

A bit of a sensational headline, but the discussion is not to be missed. Click the image above to read.

tweet o week banner1 Morning Notes: Aromatherapy Edition

Screen shot 2011 07 20 at 12.21.02 AM Morning Notes: Aromatherapy Edition

books on film banner1 Morning Notes: Aromatherapy Edition

I don’t have much to say about the following interview with R.L. Stein, other than it’s one of the oddest interviews I’ve ever seen. So odd.

(Thanks to BuzzFeed for the links)

share save 171 16 Morning Notes: Aromatherapy Edition
About Travis Jonker

Travis Jonker is an elementary school librarian in Michigan. He writes reviews (and the occasional article or two) for School Library Journal and is a member of the 2014 Caldecott committee. You can email Travis at scopenotes@gmail.com, or follow him on Twitter: @100scopenotes.

Comments

  1. adrienne says:

    I saw Harry and the Potters in concert a couple months ago, and they were totally fun. I’d hate to see them stop performing altogether.

  2. I can’t wait for Chomp. Thanks for the heads up. Hmmmm… wonder if it will be J or YA?

    • Travis says:

      His books always seem to fall right in between those two categories, don’t they? I’m guessing more J than YA, but we may have to wait and see.

  3. Jim Randolph says:

    R.L. Stine interview: by “odd” I think you mean awesome! You know one of R.L.’s first book was called “How to be Funny.” It was full of the same kind of craziness this George guy was pulling. Cool, thanks.

  4. Charlotte says:

    I am deeply distrubed by that cover, mainly because of what the woman is “wearing.” I am wondering if the Iron People are magnetic, and it is bits of random metalic detritus…

Speak Your Mind

*