100 Scope Notes
Inside 100 Scope Notes

Exclusive Book Trailer Premiere: FLY ON THE WALL by Remy Lai

Do you remember Pie in the Sky? Remy Lai’s illustrated middle grade debut from waaaaaay back in . . . 2019?

Well, Lai is back with a new book, Fly on the Wall, and today we get a first look at the trailer.

With three starred reviews and counting, it’s a book you might want to keep on your radar. Fly on the Wall arrives on September 15.

And now let’s have a first look at the trailer.

From the publisher:

In this hilarious middle-grade graphic novel/prose hybrid for fans of Jerry Craft, Terri Libenson, and Shannon Hale, an overprotected boy embarks on a (forbidden) adventure to prove his independence–from the critically-acclaimed creator of Pie in the Sky.

Henry Khoo’s family treats him like a baby. He’s forbidden from going anywhere without his sister/bodyguard. His (former) best friend knows to expect his mom’s mafia-style interrogation when Henry’s allowed to hang out at her house. And he definitely CAN’T take an international flight by himself!

But that’s exactly Henry’s plan. After the Khoos’ trip to visit his dad in Singapore is canceled, Henry decides he doesn’t want to be cooped up with his family and BFF turned NRFF (Not Really Friend Forever). Plus, he’s hiding a HUGE secret: He’s the creator of an anonymous gossip cartoon, and he’s on the verge of getting caught. Determined to prove his independence, Henry embarks on the greatest adventure everrr . . . hoping it won’t turn into the greatest disaster ever.

Share
About Travis Jonker

Travis Jonker is an elementary school librarian in Michigan. He writes reviews (and the occasional article or two) for School Library Journal and is a member of the 2014 Caldecott committee. You can email Travis at scopenotes@gmail.com, or follow him on Twitter: @100scopenotes.