100 Scope Notes
Inside 100 Scope Notes

10 to Note: Winter Preview 2019-20

I’ve been doing these seasonal previews for a while now, but today is something new: a 10 to Note that is 100% graphic novels.

As I browsed through 1,289 titles (I’m counting), upcoming comics kept catching my eye.

So sorry picture books, chapter books, middle grade and everything else, this one is for the GN fans out there.

I Survived the Sinking of the Titanic, 1912 (I Survived Graphic Novel #1) by Lauren Tarshis, illustrated by Haus Studio, adapted by Georgia Ball

February 4, 2020 | Graphix (Scholastic) | Grades 3-7

As you as excited about this as I am? I let out an audible “Ho-HO!” when I saw that there will soon be graphic novel adaptations of the I Survived series. It’s just a good idea.

Green Lantern: Legacy by Minh Lê, illustrated by Andie Tong

February 4, 2020 | DC Comics | Grades 3-7

I was already excited to learn that the great picture book writer Minh Lê was working on a graphic novel. Then I read this Twitter thread (click through to read the whole thing):

Now I can’t wait to see how Minh incorporates his family history into the Green Lantern universe.

Drew and Jot: Dueling Doodles by Art Baltazar

January 7, 2020 | Boom! Studios (Simon & Schuster) | Grades 2-4

Art Baltazar consistently turns out some of the best comics for young readers. This new series about friends who create a superhero comic, only to have it spoiled by a younger sibling sounds like a lot of fun.

Cat & Cat #1: Girl Meets Cat by Christophe Cazenove, Herve Richez, illlustrated by Yrgane Ramon

February 11, 2020 | Papercutz | Grades 3-6

I could go on and on here about the characters and plot and everything, but really this one boils down to “New Cat Probz”. And don’t you know a ton of readers who would be 100% in on that?

Astronauts: Women on the Final Frontier by Jim Ottaviani, illustrated by Maris Wicks

February 4, 2020 | First Second (Macmillan) | Grades 4-8

Last time Wicks and Ottaviani got together, they produced the excellent Jane Goodall bio Primates (which I reviewed via Vine – a world’s first (and last)). I am expecting more quality in this book about female astronauts.

The Runaway Princess by Johan Troïanowski

January 21, 2020 | Random House Graphic | Grades 3-7

There’s a new graphic novel imprint in town – Random House Graphic – and my expectations are pretty high. They are led by First Second alum (and gelato connoisseur) Gina Gagliano. Their first wave of books is set to go, and this one is about a princess who wants some adventure in her life.

Consent (For Kids!) Boundaries, Respect, and Being in Charge of You by Rachel Brian

January 7, 2020 | Little, Brown | Grades 1-5

I think my reaction on first seeing this book was “Whoa! I didn’t expect to see a comic on this topic – what a great idea.” Here’s to comics that tackle important topics with creativity and humor.

Cub by Cynthia L. Copeland

January 7, 2020 | Algonquin (Workman)| Grades 3-7

Set in the 70s and featuring a blond female protagonist, my first thought was that this will be a great suggestion for fans of Jenni & Matthew Holm’s Sunny Side Up series. This book follows a girl who becomes a cub reporter for the local newspaper.

Bug Boys by Laura Knetzget

February 11, 2020 | Random House Graphic | Grades 2-5

This graphic novel for early readers follows two bug pals and their adventures in and around Bug City.

The Way Home (Owly #1) by Andy Runton

February 4, 2020 | Graphix (Scholastic) | Grades 2-4

The Owly series, originally published in black and white by Top Shelf, is coming back in full color. This is cool to see. First up is The Way Home, with five more books to follow.

Share
About Travis Jonker

Travis Jonker is an elementary school librarian in Michigan. He writes reviews (and the occasional article or two) for School Library Journal and is a member of the 2014 Caldecott committee. You can email Travis at scopenotes@gmail.com, or follow him on Twitter: @100scopenotes.

Speak Your Mind

*